University of Pretoria - Department of Music


The Music Department belongs to the Faculty of Humanities of the University of Pretoria. The Department caters for practical music, music education and musicology, thus uniting fields of study that in Europe would be divided between university and conservatory. Besides offering tuition in all the usual instruments of Western art music, it places increasing emphasis on the study and performance of indigenous African music, jazz and popular styles. Its BMus and BA (Mus) programmes offer tuition in all these styles. The Department also offers the only Music Therapy programme on the continent (at master's level).


ZAPretoria, South Africa


Dorothy Brown
Profile added by DJ Okapi on 06 Jun 2014