The Unity Band


A diverse collective of young South African musicians, The Unity Band strives to create new music which explores the cultural diversity of South Africa. Inspired by a multitude of genres, this Cape Town-based ensemble lets their musical influences flow together to form their own fresh identity. The Unity Band has been making a name for themselves in the local music industry since the release of their debut album Fabric. This album beautifully captures the amalgamation of the band’s diversity as they explore elements of jazz, hip hop, poetry, salsa, funk and at its core, a contemporary African sound.

The Unity Band was founded by drummer and vocalist, Lumanyano “Unity” Mzi, at the South African College of Music (University of Cape Town) where all the band members studied. While each member forms an integral part of The Unity Band, they are all highly sought after individuals who pursue their musical talents in many other successful projects.

Lumanyano Mzi Stephen de Souza Lonwabo Mafani Dylan Fine Lilavan Gangen Thandeka Dladla Ofentse Moshwetsi Marco Maritz

Drum Set & Vocals Upright & Electric Bass Piano & Keyboard Electric Guitar Auxiliary Percussion Vocals Alto Saxophone Trumpet & Flugelhorn



Thandeka Dladla: +27 76 871 7571

Lumanyano Mzi: +27 78 156 8232

Facebook: Instagram:

Performances The Unity Band has been privileged to perform at some of Cape Town’s finest venues: The South African College of Music - Chisholm Recital Room (2017) The Great Wizoo (2017) The Crypt Jazz Restaurant (2017) The Silo District (2018) The V&A Waterfront Amphitheatre (2018) Harrington’s Cocktail Lounge (Africa Day 2018) Kwa Sec “Jazz in the Native Yards” - Featuring McCoy Mrubata (2018) Addis in Cape (2019) Guga S’thebe Cultural Centre (Fabric Album Launch 2019) The Reeler Theatre (2019) The band has also participated in the following music festivals: The Artscape Band Stand Festival (2017) Jazzathon Festival (2018) South African Association for Jazz Education Festival (2019)


Fabric (2019) by The Unity Band Featured on Brasskap Sessions Vol. 3 (2019) by McCoy Mrubata


Trails (studio recording 2018):

Brudeness (V&A Waterfront 2018):

Fabric (album) on Google Play:

Fabric (album) on Apple Music:

Fabric (album) on Spotify:

ZACape Town, South Africa
In operation since: 


Lilavan Gangen

Followers (5)