Uhuru (Swahili for freedom) is a four-man South African music group hailing from Soshanguve in Pretoria. The group consists of Themba Sekowe (Maphorisa), Nqobile Mahlanu (Mapiano), Sihle Dlalisisa (DJ Clap) and Xelimpilo Simelane (Xeli). Maphorisa is the producer for the group, DJ Clap is a DJ, Mapiano a pianist and Xeli is a vocalist respectively. Uhuru is signed to Kalawa Jazmee.

Uhuru shot to fame in 2013 after featuring on Mafikizolo's hit single ‘Khona’. Later that year, they released the chart-topping ‘Y-tjukutja’, which went on to win several awards. The song is a South African version of Angolan artist Yuri Da Cunha’s 'Atchu Tchutcha'. Their albums include 'Not Yet' (2012), 'Our Father' (2013), 'Symbiose' (2014) and 'Safari' (2014).

ZAMidrand, South Africa
In operation since: 


Kalawa Jazmee
Profile added by Music In Africa Foundation on 23 Mar 2016
Apply for showcases