Standard Bank Young Artist Award


Founded in 1981 by the National Arts Festival, the Standard Bank Young Artist Award is a renowned annual event in South Africa. Its objective is to recognise emerging young South African artists who have done very well in their chosen field. Standard Bank became the title sponsor of the awards in 1984 and have presented Young Artist Awards in all the major arts disciplines, as well as posthumous and special recognition awards. These awards are presented to artists in different arts disciplines, thus enabling them national exposure and acclaim. The disciplines include drama, music, jazz, visual art, dance and film.

Worth mentioning is that the awards guarantee the artists a place on the main programme of the forthcoming festival. Besides cash prize, winners receive substantial financial backing for a festival production / exhibition. The list of past winners reads like a 'who’s who' of South Africa’s creative talent most of who have gained international recognition.

Since the inception of the awards, a total of 105 (as of April 2016) awards have been presented plus five special awards to artists in recognition of their contribution to the National Arts Festival and the arts of South Africa. More than 90 artists have been recipients of the event since its inception in 1981. Previous winners include Johnny Clegg (1989), Sibongile Khumalo (1993) and more recently Kyle Shepherd, Njabulo Madlala, Nduduzo Makhathini, Avigail Bushakevitz and Siyavuya Makuzeni.

ZAJohannesburg, South Africa
In operation since: 


Standard Bank Young Artist Awards
Profile added by Ano Shumba on 19 Apr 2016