Established in 2004, Penilane is a four-piece band from Windhoek, Namibia. They started off as a three-piece music group with founding members Roy-Lee Kitt (vocals and guitar), Anesh Morar (drums) and Mike Ott (bass guitar). Raimond Seefeldt, who plays vocals and guitar, joined the trio at a later stage.

On 1 January 2010, they released a second EP ‘Ripple Effect’ which was mixed by Danny Conway at Suite Studios in Dublin. In February 2011, they shared the stage with UB40 in Windhoek. This was followed by a tour in Mozambique for the annual STRAB Festival in May.

The group has to date released three albums, namely ‘40 Bucks’ (2004), ‘Ripple Effect’ (2010) and ‘Wear it Well’ (2012). ‘Wear it Well’ was released after spending seven weeks in the studio with Alan Sanderson. Alan is the 2011 Grammy-winning recording engineer for Best Rock/Gospel. The collaboration earned them a nomination in the 2012 Namibian Annual Music Award (NAMA). Penilane have shared the stage with a number of South African artists such as The Parlotones, Prime Circle, Jo Day, Arno Carstens and New Porn, Van Coke Kartel, Steve Hofmeyr and many others.

NAWindhoek, Namibia


Raimond Seefeldt
Profile added by Ano Shumba on 20 May 2015
Join the Music In Africa Premium Exposure Plan today.