Kora All-Africa Music Awards


The Kora All-Africa Music Awards (Les Trophées Kora de la Musique Africaine) are music awards given annually for musical achievement in sub-Saharan Africa. Founded in 1994 by Ernest Adjovi, a businessman originally from Benin, the award is named after the kora, an important West African plucked chordophone. Conceptualised as a cultural and entertainment spectacular to showcase excellence in African musical culture, the Kora All-Africa Music Awards have become synonymous with the best that Africa and the diaspora have to offer musically. Accomplished musical luminaries who have graced the Kora stage over the years include Angelique Kidjo, Kofi Olomide, Miriam Makeba, Thandiswa Mazwai, Michael Jackson, Shaggy, Rihanna, Salif Keita, Oliver Mtukudzi, Bebe Winans and Femi Kuti, among many others.

The inaugural edition of the Kora Awards was held in 1996 in Johannesburg, South Africa. For the first ten years of its existence, the awards ceremony took place in South Africa but it has since been held in other countries such as Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire. The 2015 edition will take place in December 2015 in Windhoek, Namibia.


CIAbidjan, Ivory Coast
In operation since: 


Mundial Telecom Services
Profile added by Music In Africa Foundation on 21 May 2015